Best hardware for big assemblies

Hello every body,
I am lookink for the best PC configuration, in order to manipulate very big assemblies, sectioning and drawing 2d assemblies.

Can you suggest any model?

Thanks

Hi Servis,
Low number of cores is not a big deal as very little CAD multi threads. 6 is fine, big onboard cache, fastest drive on the PCEi bus and 16GB memory, and Quadro 2000 or higher.
AMD Ryzen 5 3600X looks like a good start. More money delivers more cache.
Cheers

Thanks cowboy,
I have :
HP ZBook 15 G5
with 16.00 GB

Intel ® Core ™ i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz

With Nvidia Quadro P2000

and I miss graphic agility constantly, in large assemblies.

I don’t know if there is any kind of standard test or test to quantify the efficiency of a system.
It would be good to share it and learn, because I find myself with limitations while doing my projects.

Maybe we can get some ideas, suggestions, or help from other users.

Thanks to the fourm

I am not an expert for that kind of stuff, but for starter, I would check windows integrated ressources monitor, when you are experiencing your slowdowns, to try and locate your bottleneck.

But just with the info you provide, I can say laptop processors are kind of cutdown version of desktop ones, you cannot really expect the same horse power. Not only that, but on heavy load, its not rare to reach throttling situation (it can happen to both CPU & GPU), where high temperatures require your system to auto adjust frequencies (understand “lower”) ponctually untill the temps drop significantly. Thus lowering even more the availlable output performance.

And even on desktop, I7 are not the top choice for “max” requirements, since you can find higher clocked processors. What I don’t know is if the software would handle multi-processors better than multi-cores.